The Celtic Star Bookshop
Celtic - How The League was Won 49 Times

Celtic - How The League was Won 49 Times

David Potter




Celtic have now won the Scottish League 49 times beginning in 1893. They have done 9-in-a-row, 6 in-a-row and now in 2018 they have done 7 in-a-row, and who is to say when that will end?

Each League winning season is here, affectionately described, by David Potter, Celtic's historian and of course resident write on The Celtic Star. 

Great players are involved - Dan Doyle, Sandy McMahon, Jimmy McMenemy, Jimmy Quinn, Patsy Gallacher, Jimmy McGrory, Billy McNeill, Jimmy Johnstone, Roy Aitken, Henrik Larsson, Shunsuke Nakamura and our own beloved 'Broonie'.

The circumstances in which the League was won are sometimes quite remarkable - they have won it with 10 men in their final game, they once played two games on the one day to win the League and they even played 8 games in 12 days to win it. They occasionally needed a little help from their friends in the shape of Barney Battles and Albert Kidd. All this and much more are detailed in this book which will be a great addition to the bookshelves of any Celtic supporter.

Share this